Prof. Dr. Thorsten Glaser

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Glaser

Lehrstuhl für Anorganische Chemie I

Universität Bielefeld
Fakultät für Chemie
Universitätsstr. 25
D-33615 Bielefeld

Raum E3 - 135
Tel.: +49 (0)521 106-6105
Fax: +49 (0)521 106-6003

Education and Profession

1990 - 1995 Studies in Chemistry, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
17.05.1995 Diploma degree in chemistry (Dipl.-Chem.), Prof. Dr. Karl Wieghardt, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Diploma thesis "Electronic structure of thiophenolat-bridged polynuclear transition metal complexes"
1995 - 1997 Research for Dissertation, Max-Planck-Institute for Bioinorganic Chemistry, Mülheim, Prof. Dr. Karl Wieghardt
10.12.1997 Promotion (Dr. rer. nat.), Prof. Dr. Karl Wieghardt, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Disstertation thesis "The electronic structure of linear, thiophenolate-bridged, heterotrinuclear complexes: localized vs delocalized models"
1998 - 2000 Postdoc with Prof. Dr. E. I. Solomon and Prof. Dr. K. O. Hodgson
Stanford University, USA
"Development of the Sulfur K-edge X-ray Absorption spectroscopy for the experimental determination of the metal-ligand covalency and its application for the determination of the electronic structure of iron-sulfur proteins"
2000 - 2005 Independent research for Habilitation associated with Prof. Dr. F. E. Hahn,
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
21.07.2004 Habilitation (venia legendi for Inorganic Chemistry),
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
Habilitation thesis "Rational Design of ferromagnetic interactions for the preparation of molecule-based magnetic materials"
4/2005 Offer for a full professorship in Inorganic Chemistry at Philipps-Universität Marburg (declined)
7/2005 Offer for a full professorship in Inorganic Chemistry at Bielefeld University
since 8/2005 Full professorship in Inorganic Chemistry at Bielefeld University
since 8/2008 Speaker of the DFG Research Unit FOR945 "Nanomagnets: from Synthesis via Interactions with Surfaces to Function"
2008 - 2014 Senat, Bielefeld University
2009 / 2011 "Prorektor-Findungskommission", Bielefeld University
2011 / 2013 "Hochschulrat-Auswahlgremium", Bielefeld Univesity
2012 - 2014 Speaker of the "Gruppe der Hochschullehrer im Senat der Universität Bielefeld"
2017 - Member "Editorial Advisory Board" of the American Chemical Society Journal "Inorganic Chemistry"


Awards and Stipends

12/1995 Award of the Chemistry Faculty of the Ruhr-Universität Bochum for the best Diplom
6/1995 - 12/1997 Doctoral Fellowship of the Max-Planck-Society
11/1996 Award of the Ruhr-Universität Bochum for the especially outstanding scientific work "Electronic Structure of Thiophenolate-Bridged Trinuclear Transition-Metal-Complexes"
1/1998 - 5/1998 Research fellowship of the Max-Planck-Society
6/1998 - 5/2000 Postdoctoral fellowship of the DFG
9/2000 - 8/2003 Liebig fellowship of the Fonds of the Chemical Industry
12/2002 Promotion by the Dr. Otto Röhm Gedächtnisstiftung
9/2003 - 7/2005 Group leader position by the DFG Priority Program "Molecular Magnetism"
03/2003 ADUC-Jahrespreis for Habilitanden 2002
12/2004 Werner-von-Siemens Medaille of the Stiftung Werner-von-Siemens-Ring of the VDI
1/2005 Nachwuchs-Forschungspreis 2004 of the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
6/2005 "Der Goldene Brendel"
Award of the Students for the best Chemistry Lecture
since 2013 Corresponding Member of the European Academy of Science, Arts and Literature