Faculty of Educational Science
University from A-Z
  Flag Deutsch
Bielefeld University > Faculty of Educational Science

Organization of Faculty of Educational Science

The Faculty of Educational Science was created in 1980 out of the Faculty of Pedagogy, Philosophy, and Psychology. Since then, it has developed into one of the largest faculties at the University of Bielefeld. In early 2008, the name was changed from the Faculty of Pedagogy to the Faculty of Educational Science. Approximately 3,700 students are enrolled in the various degree programmes offered by the faculty; roughly 70 full-time staff members are employed in research, teaching, and administration; and numerous staff members are also engaged in the faculty's research projects.

The Faculty of Educational Science at Bielefeld is one of the largest university faculties of education in Germany, and has a strong scholarly reputation both nationally and internationally. With its ten working groups, it offers a diverse range of degree programs and allows students to specialize in many different fields of education. Through its numerous partnerships with other faculties and departments of the University of Bielefeld, it also stands for an interdisciplinary approach to the educational sciences.

(({{Dean's office}})) (({{Centers and research units}})) ||
(({{Working groups}})) (({{Study services}})) ||
(({{Commissions and committees}})) (({{Examination office}})) || 
(({{Learning Center}})) (({{Media Education Lab}})) ||
(({{Museum of Education}})) (({{Doing a doctorate}})) ||