Faculty of Chemistry
University from A-Z
Bielefeld University > University > Departments > Faculties > Faculty of Chemistry

Welcome to the Faculty of Chemistry

The Department of Chemistry was founded in 1975. Its activities focus on fundamental research in the following main areas:

Currently, 14 professors, 1 junior professor, and 4 Privatdozenten [senior lecturer] are actively engaged in research and teaching together with further scientific staff.

During recent decades, Bielefeld chemists have made eminent and highly respected contributions to different areas of chemistry. Members of the Faculty of Chemistry have been awarded several guest professorships and highly esteemed national and international prizes for their contributions to science. Several have been appointed members of scientific academies. The Faculty of Chemistry is also a popular choice for foreign guest scientists funded by, for example, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, the DAAD [German Academic Exchange Service], and the European Union.

Everything under a single roof

The successful implementation of the concept of short distances within Bielefeld University provides manifold possibilities for scientific cooperation both within the Faculty of Chemistry and - in an interdisciplinary manner - with other faculties and departments. Members of the Faculty of Chemistry are continuously taking advantage of this unique opportunity by maintaining scientific networks such as Collaborative Research Centres (SFB) and Research Units (Forschergruppen). Within such networks, scientists at the Faculty of Chemistry are investigating topics such as molecular interaction and recognition, generation of nanosize structures, biochemical phenomena of medicinal and biological processes, and the generation of interesting molecules as components for intelligent materials.

->Homepage Faculty of Chemistry