ZiF Workshop

XV Brunel — Bielefeld Workshop
Random Matrix Theory and Applications

Date: 5 – 7 December 2019
Convenors: Gernot Akemann (Bielefeld, GER), Igor Krasovsky (London, GBR), Dmitry Savin (London, GBR), Igor Smolyarenko (London, GBR)

The fifteenth workshop in the annual series on 'Random Matrix Theory and Applications' was back in Bielefeld at the Center for interdisciplinary Research (ZiF) this December 2019. The almost 70 participants came from inner- and outer European countries, from as far as Israel and Mexico. The main foci of this year's workshop were ranging from mathematical questions about universality over stochastic processes and networks to applications to quantum and statistical physics. The meeting started as usual with a poster session with over 20 contributions and reception on Thursday afternoon. On Friday and Saturday a total of 14 speakers presented the most recent developments in the field. This included classical applications to quantum chaos and the Riemann-Hypothesis for the zeta function, one of Hilbert's millennium problems which is still open. Aspects of time dependence and the effect of higher dimensions were other timely aspects covered. After the meeting ended on Saturday late afternoon we continued with the now traditional visit to the Christmas market in Bielefeld's old town.

This ZiF workshop was also supported by the SFB1283 'Taming uncertainty and profiting from randomness and low regularity in analysis, stochastics and their applications'.

Gernot Akemann

Conference Programme

Ander Aguirre (Davis, USA), Alexander Altland (Köln, GER), Emilia Alvarez (Bristol, GBR), Emma Bailey (Bristol, GBR), Nicholas Baskerville (Bristol, GBR), Sirio Belga Fedeli (London, GBR), Tomas Berggren (Stockholm, SWE), Dan Betea (Leuven, BEL), Wouter Buijsman (Amsterdam, NED), Christophe Charlier (Stockholm, SWE), Giovanni M. Cicuta (Parma, ITA), Philip Cohen (Dublin, IRL), Klara Courteaut (Stockholm, SWE), Huw Day (Bristol, GBR), Pierfrancesco Dionigi (Leiden, NED), Margherita Disertori (Bonn, GER), Markus Ebke (Bielefeld, GER), László Erdös (Klosterneuburg, AUT), Michael Fleermann (Hagen, GER), Johannes Forkel (Oxford, GBR), Aurélien Grabsch (Leiden, NED), Alan Groot (Leuven, BEL), Félix M. Izrailev (Puebla, MEX), Jonas Jalowy (Bielefeld, GER), Anastasis Kafetzopoulos (London, GBR), Reimer Kühn (London, GBR), Arno Kuijlaars (Leuven, BEL), Aravinth Kulanthaivelu (Oxford, GBR), Alex Little (Bristol, GBR), Asad I. Lodhia (Ann Arbor, USA), Serhii Lysychkin (London, GBR), Anna Lytova (Opole, POL), Davide Macera (London, GBR), Anna Maltsev (London, GBR), Theo-Harris Maroudas (London, GBR), Julian Mauersberger (Stockholm, SWE), Francesco Mezzadri (Bristol, GBR), Adam Mielke (Bielefeld, GER), Oleksandr Minakov (Louvain-la-Neuve, BEL), Leslie Diëgo Molag (Leuven, BEL), Joseph Najnudel (Bristol, GBR), Fumihiko Nakano (Tokio, JPN), Thorsten Neuschel (Bielefeld, GER), Alexander Ossipov (Nottingham, GBR), Iván Parra (Bielefeld, GER), Tomaź Prosen (Ljubljana, SLO), David Renfrew (Klosterneuburg, AUT), Roman Riser (Haifa, ISR), Alexander Serebryakov (Brighton, GBR), Nick Simm (Brighton, GBR), Uzy Smilansky (Rehovot, ISR), Nina Snaith (Bristol, GBR), Vito Antonio Rocco Susca (London, GBR), Matthew Thompson (York, GBR), Khanh Duy Trinh (Tokio, JPN), Martin Venker (Bielefeld, GER), Jani Virtanen (Reading, GBR), Ward Vleeshouwers (Amsterdam, NED), Hans Arwed Weidenmüller (Heidelberg, GER), Aron Wennman (Tel Aviv, ISR), Brian Winn (Loughborough, GBR), Tim Robert Würfel (Bielefeld, GER), Meng Yang (Louvain-la-Neuve, BEL), Ofer Zeitouni (Rehovot, ISR)

Please direct questions concerning the organisation of the workshop to Marina Hoffmann at the Conference Office. Questions regarding scientific content and contributions should be directed to the organizers.

Tel: +49 521 106-2768
Fax: +49 521 106-152768
E-Mail: marina.hoffmann@uni-bielefeld.de