Social Icons facebook Twitter YouTube Kanal Instagram

Bielefeld Graduate School

in History and Sociology

Logo der Einrichtung
Logo der Einrichtung

Directors & Executive Board

The directors and the executive board are in charge of the BGHS. The directors represent the BGHS inside and outside Bielefeld University. The board is responsible for the further development of the academic programme and the qualification concepts of the BGHS, for admission and exclusion of members, the announcements of scholarships applications and the selection of fellows, planning and assuring the gender equality and the equal treatment, as well as promoting diversity at the BGHS.


Current Director of the BGHS is Prof. Dr. Ursula Mense-Petermann, current Deputy Director Prof. Dr. Thomas Welskopp. The directors are elected for a term of two years by the Board of the BGHS. Reelection is possible.

Executive Board

The Executive Board meets at least twice per semester under the guidance of the Director of the BGHS. It consists of:
  • the directors
  • six BGHS university professors
  • the two deans of the participating institutions
  • two members from the group of the academic staff
  • two representatives of the BGHS doctoral researchers
  • one member of BGHS staff

The current Executive Board

Representative for Equal Opportunity and Diversity Issues

Prof. Dr. Angelika Epple

Former Members of the Executive Board

Prof. Dr. Franz-Josef Arlinghaus, Hannah Bennani, Prof. Dr. Jörg Bergmann, Bettina Bommersbach, Dr. Felix Brahm, Julia Breittruck, Dr. Bettina Brockmeyer, Prof. Dr. Neithard Bulst, Prof. Dr. Christian Büschges, Prof. Dr. Thomas Faist, Dr. Eva Gerharz, Dr. David Gilgen, Hye-Young Haubner, Prof. Dr. Bettina Heintz, Marie-Christine Heinze, Prof. Dr. Jan-Otmar Hesse, Prof. Dr. Martina Kessel, Dr. Tobias Kies, Simon Lange, Dr. Klaus Nathaus, Katharina Pohl, Bianka Röhrig, Klaus Schröder, Ulrike Schulz, Prof. Dr. Veronika Tacke, Sebastian Teupe, Christian Ulbricht, Dorothee Wilm, Ramy Youssef

-> more News


Current volume InDi

Promoted by:

Initiative for Excellence
to Promote Institutions of
Higher Education
(First Funding Period 2007-2012,
Second Funding Period 2012-2017)

Promoted by: