Animal Behaviour
Universität Bielefeld > Faculty of Biology > Animal Behaviour


Klaus Immelmann founded the Department of Animal Behaviour at Bielefeld University and put the young university firmly on the international map of animal behaviour. Unique in Germany at its time, the new department focussed on the ontogeny of animal behaviour. His model animal was the zebra finch and the central research theme was sexual imprinting. He organized both the International Ethological Congress (1977) as well as a year-long research theme at the centre for interdisciplinary research (ZIF), both of which promoted Bielefeld as a centre for animal behaviour research nationally as well as internationally.

To honour the legacy of the first Professor of Animal Behaviour at Bielefeld University, Klaus Immelmann (1935-1987), the Immelmann-Lecture was created in 2001 with generous financial help of the Westfälisch-Lippische Universitätsgesellschaft. In November or December each year, a world-leading scientist is invited to deliver the lecture.

We are very pleased that the 17th Immelmann-Lecture will be given by Prof. Iain Couzin from the Max-Planck-Institute of Ornithology, Radolfzell, on November 28th 2018 at 18:15 hours in lecture hall H5.


Previous speakers of the Immelmann-Lecture include:

2017: Prof. Lloyd Peck, British Antarctic Survey

2016: Prof. Peter Kappeler, Universität Göttingen

2015: Prof. Judy Stamps, University of California at Davis

2014: Prof. Geoff Parker, University of Liverpool

2013: Dr. Jane Goodall, Jane Goodall Institute

2012: Prof. Mike Ryan, University of Texas at Austin

2011: Prof. Martin Wikelski, Max-Planck-Institut für Ornithologie, Radolfzell

2010: Prof. Tim Clutton-Brock, University of Cambridge

2009: Prof. Franjo Weissing, Universität Groningen

2008: Prof. Manfred Gahr, Max-Planck-Institut für Ornithologie, Seewiesen

2007: Prof. Peter & Rosemary Grant, Princeton University

2006: Prof. Stephen Nowicki, Duke University

2005: Prof. Michael Tomasello, Max-Planck-Institut f. Evolutionäre Anthropologie, Leipzig

2004: No lecture

2003: Prof. Nicola Clayton, University of Cambridge

2002: Prof. Eberhard Gwinner, Max-Planck-Institut für Verhaltensphysiologie, Seewiesen

2001: Prof. Nick Davies, University of Cambridge