Behavioural Ecology
Universität Bielefeld > Faculty of Biology > Animal Behaviour > Behavioural Ecology

Curriculum Vitae - Oliver Krüger

Born January 24th 1975, married, two children

October 1994 - July 1996

Undergraduate in biology at Bielefeld University

October 1996 - September 1997

Master student in Integrative Biosciences, University of Oxford

April 1998 - February 2000

Joint PhD student at Bielefeld and Cambridge University under the supervision of Prof. Fritz Trillmich and Dr. Jan Lindström. Topic of the PhD thesis: Life history strategies and population ecology of common buzzard (Buteo buteo) and goshawk (Accipiter gentilis)

October 2000 - September 2003

Postdoc with Prof. Nick Davies, Department of Zoology, University of Cambridge

October 2003 - June 2009

Royal Society Research Fellow, Department of Zoology, University of Cambridge

July 2009 - March 2010

Royal Society Research Fellow and Proleptic Senior Lecturer, Department of Biology & Biochemistry, University of Bath

April 2010 - March 2015

Heisenberg-Professor (Chair) in Animal Behaviour, Faculty of Biology, Bielefeld University

July 2013 -

Head of Department, Department of Animal Behaviour, Bielefeld University

Jan 2018 - Dec 2021

Speaker, SFB TRR 212, Bielefeld University and University of Münster

Awards and Prizes

- Winner, German Young Scientists Competition
- Winner, European Union Contest for Young Scientists

- Leopoldina Prize for Young Scientists, Leopoldina Academy of Science

- Outstanding Young Investigator, Association for the Study of Animal Behaviour (ASAB)

- Walther Arndt Prize of the German Zoological Society (DZG)
- Hans Löhrl Prize of the German Ornithologist's Society (DOG)

- Niko Tinbergen Prize of the Ethological Society

- NWO Prize of the Ornithological Society of Northrhine-Westphalia (NWO)


German National Scholarship Foundation

Biology & Biotechnology Student Research Council Scholarship

Marie Curie Fellowship of the European Union
Churchill College Cambridge Junior Research Fellowship

Royal Society Research Fellowship

Heisenberg-Professorship of the German Science Foundation

Boards, Editing, and Refereeing

Advisory board member:
German Ornithologists Union (DO-G), since 2013
Institute of Avian Research, Wilhelmshaven, since 2018

Associate Editor: BMC Ecology
Associate Editor: Journal of Ornithology

DFG, NERC, Human Science Frontier Program, National Science Foundation (USA), National Science Foundation (SA)

Am. Econ. Rev., Am. Nat., Anim. Behav., Anim. Conserv., Auk, Avian Science, Behav. Ecol., Behav. Ecol. Sociobiol., Biol. J. Linn. Soc., Biol. Lett., Biol. Rev., Bird Study, BMC Ecol., BMC Evol. Biol., Conserv. Biol., Curr. Biol., Diversity Distribut., Ecography, Ecology, Ecol. Appl., Ecol. Lett., Ethology, Evolution, Evol. Ecol., Funct. Ecol., Global Ecol. Biogeography, Ibis, J. Anim. Ecol., J. Appl. Ecol., J. Avian Biol., J. Orn., J. Raptor Res., J. Zool., Oecologia, Oikos, Oryx, PLoS One, Pop. Ecol., Proc. R. Soc. B, Wildl. Biol.

Research & Study trips

2018: Namibia, Svalbard, Iceland, Ecuador, Galapagos
2017: Maldives, Galapagos, New Zealand, Antarctica
2016: Indonesia, Philippines, Greenland, Canada, Antarctica, India
2015: Costa Rica, Galapagos, Chile, Bolivia, Canada, Svalbard, Peru, Panama, Venezuela, Trinidad, French Guyana
2014: Galapagos, USA, Antarctica
2013: Vanuatu, Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea, Galapagos
2012: China, Russia, Svalbard, Antarctica
2011: South Africa, Galapagos, Russia, Alaska
2010: Canada, Greenland, Antarctica
2009: South Africa, Russia, Alaska, Greenland, Svalbard, New Zealand
2008: Canada, Greenland, USA, Antarctica
2007: Antarctica, Chile, South Africa, Greenland, Canada, Alaska
2006: South Africa, Mozambique, Madagascar, Comores, Seychelles
2005: Antarctica, South Africa, Cameroon, Brazil, Peru
2004: Antarctica, South Africa, Canada, Indonesia
2003: Antarctica, Japan, South Africa, Brazil
2002: Antarctica, South Africa, Tanzania, Canada, New Zealand
2001: South Africa
2000: South Africa, Australia, Antarctica, Uganda
1999: Zimbabwe, Kenya, Botswana, Tanzania
1998: Tanzania, Uganda, Antarctica
1997: Tanzania
1996: USA, Tanzania, Uganda
1995: Costa Rica, Nepal, India
1994: Uganda, USA