skip to main contentskip to main menuskip to footer Universität Bielefeld Play
  • Bielefeld School of Public Health

    © Universität Bielefeld

FaKo, LeKo, FoKo, StruKo, GleiKo …. what is behind the abbreviations?

The administrative work of the School is shaped by numerous committees, staffed by the different status groups (lecturers, scientific staff, administrative staff) (usually for two years, student representatives for one year). The central commission for the coordination of faculty decisions is the faculty conference. Decisions are prepared by standing committees (teaching, research, structure).

The public meetings are open to all faculty members of the School and usually take place on Thursday mornings. The School encourages to a broad discussion on departmental topics and therefore welcome all faculty and staff to attend. A yearly overview of all meeting dates is sent to all faculty members and is also available in every secretariat. In addition, an overview of the individual committee members is available in the glass case at the Office of the Dean.

Faculty Conference (FaKo)

The FaKo is the central board within the faculty. This committee makes decisions on all central issues of the faculty. This includes, among other things, changes in regulations, list proposals for members of review boards for professorship applicants, the faculty budget, cooperation with other institutions and much more. The logs can be viewed at \\fs-​home.uni-​\shared_uges\Fako.

The FaKo generally meets on the last Thursday of each month from 10am-12pm.

Head of the FaKo is the Dean of the faculty (actual Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Greiner).

Teaching Committee (LeKo)

The LeKo is concerned with all issues related to teaching. The commission establishes course offerings and examination dates, discusses the development of new programs of study and student enrollment numbers, and designs evaluation concepts for teaching. The LeKo offers a forum for scientific faculty and staff to address topics related to teaching. Students are welcome to bring up issues relating to student affairs. The logs can be viewed at \\fs-​home.uni-​\shared_uges\LEKO.

The LeKo meets about 6 times per year on a Thursdays from 10am-12pm.

Head of the teaching commission is the Dean of students (currently Prof'in. Dr. Petra Kolip).

Research Commission (FoKo)

The FoKo determines research areas and discusses proposals for funding from the strategy budget of the rector of the university.

The FoKo generally meets twice a year.

Head of the reesearch commission is Prof. Dr. Dr. Thomas Gerlinger.

The Committee for Structure and Budget (StruKo)

The StruKo determines the structure, budget and personnel requirements of the faculty. In the StruKo, important structural decisions are made and the budget planning is prepared.

The StruKo generally meets twice a year, and as needed.

Head of the commission is Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Greiner.

Commission for Gender Equality (GleiKo)

The committee for gender equality is another standing committee at the faculty. It is responsible for ensuring the equality of women and men at the faculty, and subsequently strives to minimize unequally distributed opportunities.

Central tasks include optimizating conditions that enable a better work and family life balance, as well as enhancing the career perspectives of both women and men in the faculty. For personnel purposes, a Gender Equity plan is drawn up for a three-year period. Each new plan evaluates the previous three-year plan and describes the intended goals for the next reporting period.

The GleiKo meets irregularly, on a need-to basis,, at least once a year.

Head of the commission for gender equality and therefore also responsible for equal opportunities is Ms. Nurcan Akbulut. She also provides information on university-wide services, for example the university service center in cases of sexual violence / discrimination / bullying.

The Commission for Quality Improvement (QVK)

The QVK is a relatively new commission, formed against the backdrop of the abolishment of study fees in North Rhine-Westphalia. As compensation to the universities for lost revenue, funds are made available, and earmarked exclusively for projects that improve the quality of teaching. These ?Q-funds? are to be used to the support and supplement the compulsory course offerings - e.g. tutorials. Each semester, a limited application process is carried out. Lecturers are informed of the success of their application by the staff unit teaching (Kerstin Schlingmann) via e-mail.

Unlike other committees, the QVK is student-run; students make up the majority of the voting body and they screen and assess applications for Q-funds. Following recommendations by the QVK, a final funding decision is made by the Dean.

Mid-Level Faculty Staff Meeting

In addition to the formal commissions, the various status groups meet independently. Meetings of the mid-level faculty are held approximately once per month. Ask your mid-level faculty colleagues for the current contact person.

back to top