Returning Officer Meiko Pander c/o AStA-Secretariat (AStA-Sekretariat), Room L4-121 P.O. Box: 1659

stupawahl@asta-bielefeld.de

## First election announcement

## Election of the student parliament of the University of Bielefeld from 27 June until 1 July 2022

The election of the 48th student parliament of the University of Bielefeld will take place from **Monday 27 June until Friday 1 July 2022** (daily from 9:00h until 16:00h) in the middle part of the central hall of the main building.

There are 29 seats in the student parliament. Proposals for candidates can be submitted until **30 May 2022 15:00h** to the electoral office c/o AStA-Sekretariat (L4-121). The documents for the candidate proposals are now available in the AStA-Sekretariat and can be downloaded from www.stupa.de. Proposals are to be submitted in gender balanced representation for the purpose of § 12 Abs. 1 LGG-NW.

The student parliament is elected by the members of the student body in a public, free, equal and secret election according to lists drawn up on the basis of valid electoral proposals (electoral lists). The electoral lists contain the names of the candidates. The election is carried out using ballot boxes. Absentee voting is permitted.

All students who are enrolled at the University of Bielefeld on 9 May 2022 (§ 4 of the election regulations (Wahlordnung der Studierendenschaft der Universität Bielefeld)) are eligible to vote and can be elected. More specifically, these are all students who are registered in the register of voters. This register can be examined from **16 May until 20 May 2022** in the AStA-Sekretariat (L4-121) during the opening hours. Any objections regarding the accuracy of the register of voters may be declared in writing or reported to the returning officer during this same time period. The electoral commission will make a decision about the objection.

A request for an **absentee ballot** can be made informally to the returning officer by **18 June 2022** at **12:00h**. After the finalisation of the electoral documents, the ballot papers will be handed out from 20 June 2022 on at the earliest. They are to be sent to the returning officer by Wednesday **29 June 2022** at **15:00h**.

The student body forms a constituency. Every voter has one vote which he or she gives to a candidate on an electoral list. The seats in the student parliament are distributed among the electoral lists based on the proportion procedure by Hare/Niemeyer according to the number of votes cast for them. The seats thus allotted to the individual electoral lists will be allocated to the candidates listed on the electoral lists in the order of the number of votes they have obtained. In case of a tie between members of a list, the order of the candidates on an electoral list is decisive. In case of a tie between several lists, the majority of votes for the individual candidates is decisive. If there still is a tie, the allocation of seats will be decided by the returning officer by drawing lots.

The election regulations are available in the AStA-Secretatiat, the AStA-Pool or at www.stupa.de.

The period to contest the second election announcement and to appeal the election end two days after the publication of the election announcements.

The German version of this announcement alone shall be legally binding.

Meiko Pander (returning officer)