• Evolutionary Biology

    © Universität Bielefeld

Team


Head of department

Prof. Dr. Klaus Reinhold

E-Mail
klaus.reinhold@uni-bielefeld.de
Phone
+49 521 106-2721

Scientists

Dr. Steven Ramm

E-Mail
steven.ramm@uni-bielefeld.de
Phone
+49 521 106-2719

Dr. Denis Meuthen

E-Mail
denis.meuthen@uni-bielefeld.de
Phone
+49 (0)521-106 2820

Dr. Alfredo Sánchez-Tójar

E-Mail
alfredo.sanchez-tojar@uni-bielefeld.de
Phone
+49 521 106-2727

Dr. Tim Schmoll

E-Mail
tim.schmoll@uni-bielefeld.de
Phone
+49 521 106-2720

Dr. Antje Girndt

E-Mail
antje.girndt@uni-bielefeld.de
Phone
+49 521 106-2727

Dr. David W. Kikuchi

E-Mail
david.kikuchi@uni-bielefeld.de
Phone
+49 521 106-2822

Dr. Sepand Riyahi

E-Mail
sepand.riyahi@uni-bielefeld.de
Phone
+49 (0)521-106 2729

Dr. Nikolas Vellnow

E-Mail
nikolas.vellnow@uni-​bielefeld.de
Phone
+49 (0)521-106 2820

  • Personal details
  • Staff directory (PEVZ)
  • I am broadly interested in the evolution and adaptation of animals, particularly reptiles, in different ecological contexts. My research investigates the evolution of morphological traits, as adaptations to microhabitats or ecological niches. I am particularly interested in locomotor morphology and in reptile skin microornamentation.

Jendrian Riedel

E-Mail
jendrian.riedel@uni-bielefeld.de
Phone
+49 (0)521-106 2800

PhD-students

Dr. Athina Giannakara

Telephone
+49 521 106-2827
Room
VHF-298

Michael Haneke-Reinders

Email
michael.reinders@uni-bielefeld.de

Sexual selection, or nonrandom mating, is an important factor for evolution. In most animal species, females choose the mating partners (female choice) with the help of different criteria. However, mating with multiple males may lead to other selection processes inside the female body. Among the most widely-spread processes of such kind are sperm competition and cryptic female choice. Cryptic female choice means the ability of females to decide which sperm (for example, of male A, B or C) will be preferentially used to fertilize the eggs. In my project, I investigate cryptic female choice in the field grasshopper Chorthippus biguttulus using different mating experiments and genetic analyses of offspring. The main focus lies on the possible influence of male attractiveness and the influence of  relatedness between males and females.

Research Interests

  • Sexual selection
  • Vryptic female choice
  • Population genetics
  • Different modes of reproduction in animals (e.g. parthenogenesis)


Technician

Sonja Schindler

Telephone
+49 521 106-2718
Room
VHF-214


Guests

External Website


Dr. Ralf Jochmann

Email
ralf.jochmann@uni-bielefeld.de

Navina Lilie

Telephone
+49 521 106-2707
Room
VHF-274

The question of my research project regards to adaptive conformance to social niches and its proximate mechanisms. Although Zebra finches (Taeniopygia guttata) are known to be monogamous and conduct bipaternal care, extra-pair copulation occurs occasionally. Hence, male individuals face a trade-off securing fertilisations versus parental investment in response to the extent of sexual competition. In our project, we want to investigate how individual variation in sexual competition generates individual variation, and covariation, in both competitive traits and parenting behaviour. Therefore, I use an experimental setup consisting two conditions that vary in sperm competition risk (SCR), i.e. the presence/absence of an ejaculate rival. For my project, I investigate the plasticity of the behavioural phenotype in pre-and postcopulatory competitiveness and male parental care in response to SCR by using behavioural observations as well as endocrinological measurements (subproject A). This work is strongly connected to subproject B, which evaluates ejaculate traits and transcriptomic mechanisms in the model system.

Research Interests

  • Sexual selection
  • Social niche conformance
  • Phenotypic adjustment
  • Sexual competition
  • Male parental care


  • Dr. Michael Weber
  • Dr. Lucienne Eweleit
    Fachhochschule Bielefeld
    Email: lucienne.eweleit@fh-bielefeld.de
  • Dr. Peter Trimmer
    University of Warwick, UK
    Email: Pete.Trimmer@warwick.ac.uk
  • Dr. Nicholas P. Moran
    Centre for Ocean Life and Section for Marine Living Resources, Denmark
    Email: npamo@aqua.dtu.dk
  • Dr. Rienk Fokkema
  • Dr. Yumi Nakadera
    Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    Email: y.nakadera@vu.nl
  • Dr. Bahar Patlar
    University of Winnipeg, Canada
  • Ségolène Humann-Guilleminot
  • Dr. Pablo Valverde
  • Dr. Alicia Jarrige
  • Dr. Matthias Galipaud
  • Dr. Shaghayegh Soudi
    University of California, Davis
  • Dr. Petra Dieker
    Johann Heinrich von Thünen-Institut,
    Bundesforschungsinstitut für Ländliche Räume, Wald und Fischerei
  • Dr. Holger Schielzeth
    Department of Population Ecology
    Friedrich Schiller University Jena
  • Anasuya Chakrabarty
    Department of Population Ecology
    Friedrich Schiller University Jena
  • Abhijeet Shah
    Department of Population Ecology
    Friedrich Schiller University Jena
  • Dr. Leif Engqvist
  • Dr. Ulrike Lampe
  • Dr. Nils Cordes
    Bielefeld University
    Programm "richtig einsteigen."
    Email: ncordes@uni-bielefeld.de
  • Dr. Alexandra Franzke
    TU Dortmund
  • Dr. Eva M. Buchkremer
  • Dr. Robert Jehle
    University of Salford
    Email: r.jehle@salford.ac.uk
  • Dr. Berit Ullrich
    Stiftung Charité
  • Dr. Kirsten Klappert
    Eawag
    Email: kirsten.klappert@cluttereawag.ch
  • Dr. Munjong Kolss
    Universität zu Köln
  • Dr. Birgen Holger Rothe
  • Dr. Hasan Sevgili
    Ordu University
    Email: hsevgili@yahoo.com
  • PD Dr. Andreas Schmidt-Rhaesa
    Universität Hamburg
    Email: andreas.schmidt-rhaesa@uni-hamburg.de
  • Dr. Jan P. Wittmann

[Hier Anpassungen einfügen]

"Start-Paket"

-> Überschriften: Umbruch in diversen Überschriften verhindern. -> Ohne ANpassung: Überschriften werden, wie normaler Text, umgebrochen.
-> Seitliche Navigation: Die Section Content "[Hier Anpassungen einfügen]" wird normalerweise in der Navigation angezeigt. Diese Anpassung entfernt den Link. -> Ohne Anpassung: Anpassung-Section wird in der Navigation angezeigt.
-> Rahmenfarbe von Tab-Gruppen in Fakultätsgrün umstellen. -> Ohne Anpassung: Farben sind manchmal Uni-Grün.
-> Alle <section>-Elemente auf 100% setzen und anzeigen.
-> Alle Links schwarz
-> Textboxen innerhalb von Groups auf 100% Breite [Portal-Page] -> Groups auf 100% Breite [Portal-Page]

Contact: Alternative Ansicht Contact-Element

-> Alternative Ansicht der Contact-Komponente -> Bild und Text nebeneinander im grauen Kasten