skip to main contentskip to main menuskip to footer Universität Bielefeld Play Search
  • Senate of the Bielefeld University

    © Universität Bielefeld

The Senate of Bielefeld University

Switch to main content of the section


Contact person: Daniele Resta

Secretary's office: Bianca Mettenbrink

Office: university main building (UHG) U7 - 238


Phone: +49 521 106-6978

The senate is one of the central organs of the university. In accordance with §22 of the Higher Education Act for North Rhine-Westphalia, the senate is responsible for formulating and amending the constitution (in German) as well as other regulations and statutes of the university as long as these are not the responsibility of the faculties. The senate meets to discuss all matters of research, teaching, and studies that concern the university as a whole or are of fundamental importance. Moreover, it can present recommendations and reasoned opinions on drafts of the university development plan, on the university budget, and on the principles for distributing posts and funds to the faculties, central academic institutes, and central services.

The Senate contains 24 voting members: 12 representing the university professors, 4 representing the academic staff, 4 representing the students, and 4 representing the nonacademic staff. The term of office is 2 years. The term of office for the members representing students is 1 year. Its non-voting members are the Rectorate, the Head of the AStA [Student Union], the deans of each faculty, the BiSEd-Director, the Equal Opportunities Officer, the Head of the Staff Councils, the Speaker of the Representatives for the Student Assistants and the Representative for the Disabled.

For information in accordance with § 16 of anti-corruption law concerning the members of the Rektorat of Bielefeld University, please contact Ms Balkenhol (Executive Department Internal Revision and Compliance, main university building T 7-133, Phone 0521.106-3331).

back to top